Two Wyoming Students Named 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars

U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona on Thursday announced the 58th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars, recognizing 161 high school seniors for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields. The two scholars from Wyoming include Isabelle Radakovich, Cody High School, and Keegan Allen Miller of Laramie High School.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technician excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership. According to the U.S. Department of Education, of the 3.7 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 5,000 candidates qualified for the 2022 awards determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations made by chief state school officers,  other partner recognition organizations and YoungArts,  the National Foundation for the Advancement of Artists.

As directed by Presidential Executive Order, the 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars include one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 scholars in the arts and 20 scholars in career and technical education. The U.S. Presidential Scholars program was created in 1964. The class of 2022 will be recognized for their achievement this summer with an online recognition program.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.