College District Announces Excellence Award Winners

College District Trustee Walt Wragge is one of 10 recipients of Northern Wyoming Community College District Excellence Awards for 2019. (Photo by Pat Blair)

Walt Wragge is recipient of the Northern Wyoming Community College District Trustee Leadership Award for 2019.

Wragge, who assumed the reins of chairman of the district’s board of trustees this year, is one of 10 people from Sheridan and Gillette colleges to be named by the district as 2019 Excellence Award Winners.

Individuals are selected based on nomination by their peers, and one faculty member, classified employee, professional employee and student at both Sheridan and Gillette colleges receive the awards, along with one foundation member and one trustee.

Wragge has been a college district trustee since 2006. Dr. Walt Tribley, who’s president of the district, described him as a passionate community college advocate on local, state and national levels.

Other award recipients from Sheridan College include Everett McGlothlin, Foundation Volunteer of the Year; Callie Fall, Sheridan College Classified Employee of the Year; Rebecca Atkinson, Sheridan College Faculty Member of the Year; Thad Rigby, Sheridan College Professional Employee of the Year; and Bailey Hassler, Sheridan College Student of the Year.

Everett McGlothlin (Courtesy photo)

McGlothlin has served on the Sheridan College Foundation’s board of directors since 2014. Fall is a payroll specialist for the district, Atkinson is an agriculture instructor, and Rigby is an academic advisor at the college. Hassler is a dental hygiene major with a 4.0 GPA.

Excellence Award winners from Gillette College are Allyssa Molenda, Classified Employee of the Year; Travis Grubb, Faculty Member of the Year; Mark Anderson, Professional Employee of the Year; and Cody Elliott, Student of the Year.

Rebecca Atkinson (Courtesy photo)

Wragge, Grubb, Rigby, McGlothlin, Elliott and Fall were also nominated for the Wyoming Association of Community College Trustees 2019 leadership awards. WACCT selects one statewide winner from each category, and awards will be presented on Feb. 12 at the state association’s 2020 Awards and Legislative Reception at Laramie County Community College.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.